Reflections on 5 weeks in Hawai’i

And now … back in Berlin. Down to freezing point on some days this week, missing my brand-new gloves I bought in August, but with a second-hand cozy jacket bought on my first day back. Since my jet lag wasn’t over as fast as I thought it was the first 3 days, I was up since 5am on Saturday and ready to attend the 10am “Shut Up and Write!” Meetup, which was really productive. I’m of course only finally blogging this a week later, but I wrote most of this at that session.

The trip to Hawai’i was most definitely worthwhile. For exactly the reasons planned: networking, i.e., introducing myself to others working on or otherwise involved in the Mauna Kea issues, taking in motivation and inspiration from the sights and sounds and people, and just plain old hanging out in Hawai’i to recapture some summer energy and more “motivation and inspiration” (and some reality checks about grow-up unemployed non-student life in “paradise” and in general).

Relevant stuff I did:

  • Went to the Queen’s Birthday celebration at ‘Iolani Palace, where I first met Alohalani Brown and Ka’iulani Milham. Ka’iulani and I watched the Kamakakoi film that I also now have on USB. I was able to catch up with ku’ualoha ho’omanawanui in her office. Facebook connections to real life connections.
  • Took part in an aloha ‘āina event at UHM (on an extremely rainy day) with pule, oli, music bands, lomilomi massage, and a quick chat with Lori Halemanō, while briefly seeing Kaho’okahi Kanuha and Walter Ritte.
  • Attended the Indigenous, Sci Fi, Fairy Tale Studies symposium “Creating Futures Rooted in Wonder” that was happening on a weekend I had no other plans for at UHM. I got to listen to the amazing panel discussions, participate in workshops, and talk to several great writers/academics. Meeting Bryan Kuwada was amusing, since he had read my writing, both anonymous and not, and now he knew who that was all this time (Mahalo to Bryan and Aiko and others for the great event!). I took part in 2 workshops, one where I made that pastell crayon picture below, the other where my group with Nisi Shawl and Walidah Imarisha came up with a stormy futures scenario in Kāne’ohe laid out by Noe Goodyear-Ka’ōpua. I loved all their presentations and workshop organizations and the symposium was also a great way to catch up with my former CPIS classmates.12029650_10153208600088087_3209345766246693309_o
  • Visitied Hawai’i Island, the best island of the archipelago. Meeting Pua Case, Hāwane Rios, Ku’uipo Freitas, Lanakila Mangauil, and Lākea Trask the day I finally made it to the mauna was unexpected after finding out everyone was busy and mostly away since the last arrests in September. Networking from Facebook (Camille) and further connections (Jodi and family) again helped the coordination and the inspiration of the trip. On my way out of HNL I sat next to a woman on the plane who insisted I take Hāwane’s number when she heard what my plans were. I met Ku’uipo when forecasted storm Naila was giving me cabin fever and nothing to do but Facebook news feed scrolling. I saw she posted she was selling shirts for fundraising and was in Kona, so I bought two shirts off her, one of which I gave Jodi in thanks for treating me to breakfast, showing me around and introducing me to her friends (Kanaka Kava regulars), and taking me to Mauna Kea right before leaving for Honolulu again.

Reality checks:

  • Many good friends were now gone or are soon leaving the island themselves (for good or for 1-2 year research), so it got pretty lonely at times,. However, I’m a pro at being social, so that accommodation was helped by staying at friends’ for house-sitting and couchsurfing. I also only went to the beach 5 times in 5 weeks.
  • Moving back to Germany and being financially “independent” (see unpaid accommodation), I ultimately realized how expensive Hawai’i is, not just by German standards that are so much more budget-friendly. I mostly lived off rice from my old trusted rice-cooker and spam (as sandwich meat and in fried rice) unless I splurged on poke and that chocolate haupia pie all to myself.
  • The houselessness and poverty in Hawai’i is so much more obvious in Mo’ili’ili than it ever was living in Mānoa, and I usually only encountered it when going into town. It was most perceptible cause the building next door had a family with a young child and two puppies set up their shelter every night, to be taken down in the morning rain or shine.

Leave a comment